Saturday, May 22, 2010

Home.

Gatwick-Mancs flight was delayed by just over an hour, but my luggage came pretty quickly at the other end, so they are forgiven.

It's so good to be home. In my own bed. With my housemates (but not in my bed, obvs..)

And it's all GREEN. Aaaaaahhhhhh.

Oh and, iPhone?

It's good to be back.


EW. Just stepped on a slug in the kitchen. Welcome home, Prilly.

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Day 54: Perforated Ear Drum

I have FINALLY seen a perforated ear drum. FINALLY. It was so clear and in focus.. MAGIC. Definitely a Dr Sinclair "AH-HA!" moment.

Hamdullah (thanks to God)!

I am one happy happy HAPPY bunny.


In other news, I'm all checked-in and ready to go (well not quite, I still have to pack but that's a job for this evening.)

HOMEWARD BOUND HOORAY!!!!

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Day 53: The End is Nigh!

Last day of diving yesterday.. :(

DId my last dives, cleaned and returned my kit, paid my bill (ouch) and then it was all over! Sad. Times. All good things must come to an end though, eh?

All that's left to do is to get signed off (that's today coz Dr Adel is on holiday as of tomorrow).


I can't believe I've been here for almost 8-weeks. It's slightly bizzare. I remember being in week 5 and thinking, "God, when will this END?" And now that it is coming to an end, it's weird! It's been amazing. Seen some good medicine, met some brilliant doctors and people in general and learnt to dive. It's hard to believe that this is a compulsory part of my medical degree!

I'm ready to go home though. I've burnt enough way too much cash out here doing various things. All ABSOLUTELY worthwhile, but..

I want proper tea with proper milk.
I want an Innocent Smoothie.
I want CHEESE.
I want to cook.
I want a family dinner whilst watch South Park on the sofa at 10pm.
I want to bake a cake.
I want to do the crossword (with Matt whilst bullying Nav).
I want a decent internet connection so I can talk to me mam proper.
I want to RIDE BIKES, especially tandems.

And most importantly, I want to see John, the family and all you other people. Yes, you.

I'm definitely ready.


Please, PLEASE let me fly on Friday, Mr Eyjafjallajokull-Ash-Cloud.

No. Let's be a bit more Egyptian about this, hey? Insha'Allah (!) (God willing), I will fly home on Friday.

Sunday, May 16, 2010

Day 49: Kitten Care????

What. The. Fuck.


We went to T2 in Hadaba for some live music, which was pretty cool.

As we were leaving, Amr was talking to a frequent chamber client. I asked what was going on as we walked to the car, and he said, "No, she wants me to look after her cat for a few days."

Oh ok.


When we got in the car, there was a wee handbag. "Take the cat."
Er, what? "It's in HERE?" I asked.
"Yes," Amr said, "And you take care of her for me tonight, yes?"
Er, what?
"Because I need to go to Na'ama Bay now."
"Um, yeah, ok. What do I do?"
"Just sleep with her in the same room, it's ok?"


Aaaaaand, that was it. I am now looking after.. A kitten.

I've lined a box with some newspaper (or the Sharm Yellow Pages 2007), then a towel, then another towel wrapping her up. A wee milk bowl in the corner (aka ash tray) after attempting to feed her 30 minutes ago. (She had about 5 licks then looked very disinterested.)


And now she's meowing.

And meowing.

And meowing.


Bets on the amount of sleep Prilly will have tonight..?

Friday, May 14, 2010

Day 48: Tandems FOUND!!!!

As told by Nav,

"They raided a house with a SWAT team and dogs and tear gas and snipers on surrounding rooftops...... and they found the tandems in the back yard with a bunch of other stolen stuff. A scally has been arrested. Matt will go to the police station soon to make a statement at some point soon I think."

I think what actually happened was that the police were already onto some theiving scallies and when they busted into their house, they also found our tandems in their back garden.

Special special thank to Amna who spotted them twice and was good enough dial 999 and report the sightings.

Absolutely relieved (seeing as one of them didn't even belong to us!) and so so SO glad they are back (or in police custody..)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Day 45: Stolen Tandems

Gone. Both of them. Gone.

Stolen ?Friday. Spotted on Saturday with some scallies by Baz.

Matt has told the pol-pols.

Heartbroken. Absolutely heartbroken.

Monday, May 10, 2010

Day 44: To Tell Or Not to Tell

Wow, I'm awake. Can't sleep anymore either. The story goes:-

Alice is insistent on doing her Rescue Diver Course. She has about 35 dives but is very very comfortable in the water and has been told so by a couple of people. She had previously (when she first got here) asked Dr Adel about doing the Rescue, and he said to do the Advanced and see.

Yesterday, (Dr Adel was in a rather foul mood, however) she asked him. He disapproved of her doing it and said she should have at least 50 dives before she does it. Then we were interrupted by a patient.

Later, Ingrid (the nurse who has moved in with us) managed to put her foot in it, just as Dr Adel had finished writing an angry e-mail to one of the insurance companies, by saying, "So are you going to let this young lady do her rescue." This resulted in him giving Alice a MASSIVE lecture about doing her Rescue Course.

But he still lent her the Rescue Course book...


SO. The issue now is me. I am going to go do my Advanced Open Water on Wednesday and Thursday. I spoke to Dr Ahmed about it and he said he would (as a friend) advise me to do more dives and do my Advanced at a later date, but if I really wanted to do it, then I should do it. He has also given me the time off I need to do it.

So what's the problem?

Well. I feel like I need to tell Dr Adel. Maybe it's because he cleared me for diving in the first place. I don't know. I feel like if I went and did the Advanced Course without telling him, I'd be going behind his back, or something. I dunno what my brain is up to.

But I know if I tell him, he'll be disapproving and give me a (fully legit) lecture about experience. And I don't *really* want that. So do I tell him? Or do I just go anyway? And what do I say?

I DO need to tell him though, coz I'm waking up at 6.40am when I don't need to be up till at least 9.30am.......